My Father’s Eyes

Marriage has been an incredible learning experience so far. I don’t mean this in a negative way. I have been very lucky in having great in-laws, so unfortunately I have no nasty tales to tell. Yet, in the middle of this big change in my life…moving to London, a city I had always wanted to visit, and surrounded by great people…I still miss my parents a lot.

Not a day passes when I don’t think of them. Many days, when this feeling gets very deep, I cook meals that my mother and eldest sister used to make for me. I feel like I am close to them through the food.

Essence of life is in conflict. Wanting to be in two places at the same time is a subset of this.

As we grow older, we start judging our parents and others who we looked up to. But with this distance, I have thought deeply about my parents. I see their flaws and I see their good points. And you realise that you are so small in front of what they have given you, that you are a nobody to find faults with them. Whatever that I am right now, even in my fights and resistance, I admire them. They are a part of my soul and I am so blessed to have them with me. I wish my children love me the way I love them.

5 comments
  1. Pranshuta said:

    Hey M, That is so true ! I know exactly what you mean. "Wanting to be in 2 places at a time" – How true !! I too wish that when ever I have my children, they love me the way I love my parents ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sophia said:

    Essence of life is in conflict. Wanting to be in two places at the same time is a subset of this. – What a wonderful line. Almost had tears reading this wonderful post. Parents are the most prized possession ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sara said:

    We always have to put ourselves in other people’s shoes to fully understand what it means to do their work instead of simply making swift judgments. My respect for my parents has multiplied infinitely when I got married and had my child. I’m humbled at their positive energy and optimism and unconditional love and care. Alhamdila! It’s such a relief feeling this.

  4. Sara said:

    This is exactly what I”ve been thinking these past 2 weeks. Twitter is starting to become like a public chat log where self-proclaimed experts are tweeting nonsense or chatting with their buddies. I have unfollowed these people immediately.And isn’t it truly amazing when you see someone absolutely in love with what they do? Doesn’t our world demand a balance of passions, from cooking to writing books, to teaching to selling the best variety of fish in Tokyo? Every passion must be respected and nurtured. The world is a beautiful canvas only because of its diverse colors and shades.

Leave a Reply

